€ 44.99

Jenufa (Opus Arte)

English · DVD

Shipping usually within 2 to 5 working days

Compare versions

This item cannot be returned.


Read more

Award-winning director Claus Guth's acclaimed production of Jenufa is a striking representation of an oppressed society 'infused with heart-warming humanity' (Evening Standard) Two courageous women struggle for fulfilment against the backdrop of a claustrophobic rural community. With music inspired by the traditional folk melodies of his native Moravia, Janácek's score movingly captures Jenufa's progression from hope to despair to eventual radiant happiness, while her stepmother, the Kostelnicka, is one of opera's most complex maternal figures. Hungarian conductor Henrik Nánási conducts Asmik Grigorian in her much-anticipated Royal Opera House debut in the title role, alongside Karita Mattila as the Kostelnicka and a star cast.

Product details

Composers Leos Janácek (1854-1928)
Artists Orchestra of the Royal Opera House, Royal Opera Chorus, Henrik Nánási (Conductor), Asmik Grigorian, Karita Mattila, Nicky Spence, Saimir Pirgu, Elena Zilio
Genre Musica classica > Opera
Content DVD
Publication date 26.08.2022
Edition Opus Arte
Audio Czech
Subtitles English, German, French, Korean, Japanese
Length 130 Minutes
Screen 16/9
Region code 0


Customer reviews

No reviews have been written for this item yet. Write the first review and be helpful to other users when they decide on a purchase.

Write a review

Thumbs up or thumbs down? Write your own review.

For messages to CeDe.com please use the contact form.

The input fields marked * are obligatory

By submitting this form you agree to our data privacy statement.